YOU are first priority.

I’ve been so motivated by my own reality (that I’ve created) lately, I feel the need to share.

I struggled (and admittedly still sometimes do) with the value I put on other people’s opinions of me. I constantly would seek other people’s approval of the choices in my life. I wanted to make everyone happy. I wanted everyone to be on board with the direction I was headed in.

But you see, in this process, I seemed to have lost myself. I lost the importance in what made me happy. I didn’t know any better, because I wasn’t in control of my own happiness. I didn’t know what that necessarily even was!

I sit here and spill my heart out to this blog only with hopes that it can somehow touch the hearts of someone reading this. You don’t have to make everyone happy. Heck- I GUARANTEE you that you will never please everyone. The sooner you realize that, the more power you give yourself. The more power you give yourself to let go of the need for approval.

I will be moving to Costa Rica in about three weeks, and I made this decision shortly before I graduated college. Over the course of the past months at home, I have witnessed so many different reactions to the typical, “So you graduated…what now?” “I’m going to teach English in Costa Rica!” (in an obvious enthusiastic and motivated tone.) The responses have ranged anywhere from crazy eyes and “Why would you ever want to do that?” to simply genuine happiness for me. But the one thing I’ve realized is: it doesn’t matter. It doesn’t matter if someone is happy for me, confused for me, disappointed. All that truly matters is that I know I am making the right decision for ME. And I am happy. I am downright so excited and pumped to live on the beach for 6 weeks while receiving my training, and proceed to get a teaching job. To me, it’s one of my ultimate dreams coming to life. But enough of me trying to prove my excitement, because like I said, at the end of the day I know I am making the right decision for me and that is all that matters.

I was unhappy with my appearance. My weight was something I struggled with since freshman year of college. So I decided to do something about it, and here I am, 20 pounds lighter and healthier than I’ve been in a very long time. I realized I am in control.

Please, please, please, don’t allow someone else to control your destiny. You are 100% in charge of where you end up. The decisions you make today DO affect your tomorrow. You can make anything possible with work hard and determination. Just do not forget that YOU are your first priority. Be selfish in the decisions you make. There is no better time than now. Not to mention the power of a positive attitude. I’m becoming more and more of a believer in the law of attraction. The energy and attitude you give off is what you will get in return.

Go live your dreams. That is all.

Leave a Reply

